- NATMI has not publicly disclosed a numeric passing score for the Certified Driver Trainer exam.
- Expect roughly 100 multiple choice and true/false questions, per NATMI's general certification guide.
- Certification also requires an approved performance and background submission, ordinarily within 60 days.
- Prepare against the ten Essential Instructional Skills topics, which are course topics, not weighted exam domains.
The Honest Answer: No Published Number
If you searched for the Certified Driver Trainer passing score hoping to find a clean figure like "you need 70%," here is the straight answer: the North American Transportation Management Institute (NATMI) does not publicly disclose a numeric passing score for the CDT examination. It also does not publish a candidate pass rate.
That may feel unsatisfying, but it is better than the alternative. Many pages online recycle cut scores from unrelated credentials that happen to share the "CDT" acronym. This article covers only the Certified Driver Trainer credential issued by NATMI, and it separates what is verified from what is not.
For related context on how candidates experience the credential, see our breakdown of what the data shows about the CDT pass rate and our guide to how hard the CDT exam really is.
What NATMI Has Actually Disclosed
While the cut score is not public, a fair amount about the exam's structure and surrounding process is documented in NATMI's certification guide and FAQs. Here is a clear separation of the known from the unknown.
| Item | Status | Details |
|---|---|---|
| Numeric passing score | Not disclosed | No official percentage or scaled score is published |
| Candidate pass rate | Not disclosed | NATMI does not publish pass statistics |
| Question count | General guidance | NATMI's guide says to expect 100 questions |
| Question types | Stated | Multiple choice and true/false |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Not disclosed | No breakdown published |
| Exam time limit | Not verified | No official timer figure confirmed publicly |
| Weighted exam blueprint | Not published | No official domain weights or version |
| Open-book / calculator / adaptive rules | Not verified | Confirm with NATMI before test day |
One trap worth avoiding: you may see an exam event listed with a morning window, such as 8 a.m. to noon. That is an event schedule, not proof of a four-hour timed test. Do not assume a time limit from a session block.
Exam Format and Delivery
The CDT exam is typically taken online through the NATMI/TCA TopClass Learning Center, normally after you complete the required training. Alternative virtual or in-person proctoring can be arranged. Because accommodation policies are not spelled out publicly, anyone who needs testing accommodations should contact NATMI early rather than assuming a particular arrangement is available.
What the questions look like
NATMI describes the exam as multiple choice and true/false, with about 100 questions expected. For a credential built around instructional skills, that means the questions generally test whether you can apply training concepts to realistic situations, such as choosing the best way to write an objective, structure a lesson, or evaluate whether training worked.
Because the exam is tied to the instructor-development curriculum rather than to a regulation-heavy body of law, questions tend to reward understanding of why a method works, not just recall of a definition. A driver trainer who has actually coached new drivers will often recognize the logic behind the correct answers.
Key Takeaway
Ask NATMI directly, before you test, about the time limit, whether any reference material is permitted, and how results are reported. These details are not publicly verified, and confirming them removes avoidable surprises on exam day.
Why Passing Is More Than a Score
Here is the part most "passing score" articles miss: earning the Certified Driver Trainer designation is not purely a matter of clearing an exam threshold. Certification is a multi-part process, and the exam is only one gate.
The full set of requirements
- Experience: Two years of driver-training experience. No degree is required. Driving counts toward this only when at least 50% of your role involves training others.
- Required course: The two-day, 16-hour Essential Instructional Skills for Professional Driver Trainers course. Course credit remains usable for five years.
- Exam: The online (or proctored) test described above.
- Performance and background submission: An approved submission, ordinarily within 60 days.
What the submission requires
The performance and background package is substantial. It includes three signed references (one from an employer and two from external colleagues), two years of performance evidence, and at least four management or training activity examples. NATMI's general checklist also references non-NATMI professional development and association membership.
The Content You Must Master
NATMI does not publish a weighted exam blueprint for the CDT, so no one can honestly tell you which area carries the most points. What is published is the set of ten topics covered in the required Essential Instructional Skills course. These are course topics, not verified exam domains, but they are the best available map of what the exam draws from. Our complete guide to the ten CDT content areas goes deeper on each; here is a working summary.
Domain 1: The Instructional Process
The overall cycle of planning, delivering, and evaluating training.
- How each stage of instruction connects to the next
- Why structured instruction beats informal "ride along" coaching
Domain 2: Principles of Learning
How adults, including experienced drivers, take in and retain skills.
- Factors that help or hinder learning in a cab or classroom
- Matching your approach to the learner's experience level
Domain 3: How to Prepare Performance Objectives
Writing clear, observable statements of what a trainee must be able to do.
- Recognizing a well-formed objective versus a vague one
- Linking objectives to measurable driver behaviors
Domain 4: Teaching Assignments & Instructor Demonstration
Assigning practice and demonstrating a skill effectively.
- Structuring a demonstration so learners can replicate it
- Using assignments to reinforce what was taught
Domain 5: Evaluation of Training Effectiveness
Determining whether training actually changed performance.
- Choosing appropriate evaluation methods
- Using results to improve future sessions
Domain 6: Lesson Plans
Building organized plans that guide a session from start to finish.
- Components of a complete lesson plan
- Sequencing content so skills build logically
Domain 7: Instructional Techniques
The methods a trainer uses to present material and engage learners.
- Selecting a technique that fits the objective
- Adapting delivery to different learners and settings
Domain 8: The Role of the Trainer
The responsibilities, conduct, and professional posture of a driver trainer.
- How a trainer influences safety culture and trainee habits
- Boundaries and responsibilities within a carrier or fleet
Domain 9: Practice Teaching
Applying the methods in a supervised teaching exercise.
- Delivering a short lesson using the course framework
- Receiving and applying feedback on your delivery
Domain 10: Organization of an Effective Training Program
Moving from individual lessons to a coherent program.
- Structuring training across onboarding and ongoing development
- Aligning a program with company and safety goals
Because the weighting is unknown, the sensible strategy is balanced competence across all ten. Skimping on one topic because it "seems minor" is a gamble the public information does not support.
Fees and Registration Mechanics
Cost is part of the passing equation because the exam is bundled with training rather than sold the way many standalone certifications are. According to NATMI's catalog and FAQ, the 2.5-day program bundle includes training, testing/application, materials, and first-year membership.
| Pricing Source | Quoted Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Official catalog, default/NATMI plan | US$1,185 | Bundle: training, testing, materials, first-year membership |
| Official catalog, TCA-member plan | US$1,070 | Same bundle at member pricing |
| Public FAQ | $1,150 | Regional variation noted |
| Closed July 2026 partner event | $1,045 | Event-specific; no longer open |
A standalone exam fee, and any universal member versus non-member exam schedule, has not been verified, so do not assume you can buy the test alone at a particular price. For the full picture, see our CDT certification cost breakdown and, if you are weighing the investment, whether the CDT certification is worth it.
Preparing Without a Published Target
With no disclosed cut score, the right preparation goal is consistent, confident performance across the ten instructional topics. One short, CDT-specific way to organize that work is below. It front-loads the concepts the later topics depend on.
Foundations
- Instructional Process and Principles of Learning, since every later topic builds on them
- Begin collecting reference names and performance evidence for your submission
Planning Skills
- Performance Objectives, Lesson Plans, and Program Organization
- Practice rewriting weak objectives into measurable ones
Delivery and Evaluation
- Instructional Techniques, Teaching Assignments & Demonstration, and Evaluation of Training Effectiveness
- Role of the Trainer and Practice Teaching reflection
Full Review
- Timed practice sets covering all ten topics
- Revisit any topic where you still hesitate
For a deeper plan, work through our CDT study guide, then test yourself with realistic questions on the CDT practice test site. If you want a fast refresher in the last days before your exam, the CDT cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts.
After You Pass: Staying Certified
Passing is not the end of the story. Certification runs on a three-year renewal cycle that requires 30 recertification points, which are not automatically the same as continuing education units. NATMI's August 26, 2026 guidelines also require NATMI membership to be in good standing. The renewal-fee amount is not publicly verified, so confirm it with NATMI when your cycle approaches.
Beyond maintenance, the credential matters most to carriers, fleets, and training organizations that need qualified instructors for their drivers. If your goal is career movement, explore our look at CDT jobs and the CDT salary guide. New to the credential itself? Start with what CDT certification is.
Frequently Asked Questions
NATMI has not publicly disclosed a numeric passing score. Any specific percentage you see quoted without a NATMI citation should be treated as unverified. Contact NATMI directly if you need official confirmation.
NATMI's general certification guide says to expect 100 questions in multiple choice and true/false formats. It does not publish a scored versus unscored breakdown or a separately dated question-count specification.
The exact time limit is not publicly verified. A scheduled event window, such as a morning session, does not prove a timed test of that length, so confirm the timer with NATMI before you sit for the exam.
No. You also need two years of qualifying driver-training experience, completion of the 16-hour Essential Instructional Skills course, and an approved performance and background submission, ordinarily within 60 days, including three signed references and evidence of your training work.
That cannot be named, because NATMI has not published a weighted exam blueprint. The ten topics from the required course are the best preparation map, but they are course topics rather than officially weighted exam domains, so study all of them.