CDT logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CDT Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • Certified Driver Trainer is issued by the North American Transportation Management Institute (NATMI), and the exam is normally taken after the 2.5-day training.
  • Expect roughly 100 multiple-choice and true/false questions; the passing score, timer, and pass rate are not publicly disclosed.
  • You need two years of driver-training experience, with at least 50% of your role spent training others.
  • The performance/background submission needs three signed references and at least four management/training activity examples.

What This Credential Is (and Is Not)

Certified Driver Trainer is a professional credential for people who train commercial drivers. It is awarded by the North American Transportation Management Institute (NATMI), and it has nothing to do with other certifications that happen to share the same three letters. If you are still sorting out the acronym, start with What Does CDT Stand For? or What Is CDT Certification? before going further.

The focus of this credential is instruction, not driving skill. Passing it signals that you understand how adults learn, how to build lesson plans and performance objectives, how to deliver and evaluate training, and how to run a training program. That distinction shapes everything on this cheat sheet: the content you review is instructional design and delivery, not road rules or vehicle operation.

Identity check: Every fact on this page refers to the NATMI Certified Driver Trainer credential only. If a fee, date, or pass rate you find online mentions a different organization, it belongs to a different "CDT" and does not apply here.

The Numbers at a Glance

Here is the one-glance version of what is publicly documented. Where the issuer has not published a detail, the table says so rather than guessing.

ItemWhat is documented
Issuing bodyNorth American Transportation Management Institute (NATMI)
Testing platformNATMI/TCA TopClass Learning Center online testing, normally after training; virtual or in-person proctoring by arrangement
Question countAbout 100 questions, multiple choice and true/false (per the general NATMI guide)
TimerNot publicly verified
Passing scoreNot publicly disclosed
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Experience requirementTwo years of driver-training experience; no degree required
Required courseEssential Instructional Skills for Professional Driver Trainers (two days, 16 hours)
Course credit validityFive years
Renewal cycleEvery three years, 30 recertification points

For deeper dives on the unknowns, see CDT Passing Score 2026 and CDT Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

The Ten Course Topics, Condensed

Preparation follows the ten published topics of NATMI's required course. These are issuer-course topics, not a weighted exam blueprint, so no one can truthfully tell you which topic carries the most exam weight. Treat all ten as fair game and balance your time accordingly. The full breakdown lives in CDT Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas; below is the compressed review version.

1. The Instructional Process

The big-picture cycle of training: analyze needs, plan, deliver, and evaluate.

  • Know the stages of instruction and how each feeds the next
  • Understand why training is a process, not a one-time event

2. Principles of Learning

How adult drivers absorb and retain information.

  • Adult learners bring experience and want relevance
  • Retention improves with practice, feedback, and repetition
  • Expect scenario questions asking which technique fits a learner problem

3. How to Prepare Performance Objectives

Writing clear statements of what a learner will be able to do.

  • Objectives describe observable performance, not vague understanding
  • Know the parts of a well-formed objective and how to spot a weak one

4. Teaching Assignments & Instructor Demonstration

Structuring learner tasks and modeling skills correctly.

  • A demonstration should be deliberate, paced, and followed by learner practice
  • Assignments should connect directly to the objective

5. Evaluation of Training Effectiveness

Measuring whether training worked.

  • Distinguish evaluating the learner from evaluating the program
  • Know why evaluation results should drive revisions

6. Lesson Plans

Turning objectives into a repeatable, deliverable session.

  • A lesson plan sequences content, activities, and checks for understanding
  • Know the components and the logic of their order

7. Instructional Techniques

The methods used to deliver content.

  • Match the technique to the objective and the audience
  • Be ready to compare lecture, discussion, demonstration, and hands-on practice

8. The Role of the Trainer

What the trainer is responsible for, in the classroom and beyond.

  • Professional conduct, credibility, and accountability for learner outcomes
  • How a trainer supports safety culture through instruction

9. Practice Teaching

Rehearsing delivery and receiving feedback.

  • Understand why rehearsal and constructive feedback improve delivery
  • Recognize what good feedback sounds like

10. Organization of an Effective Training Program

Running training as a system rather than a series of one-off classes.

  • Program structure, records, scheduling, and continuous improvement
  • How individual lessons roll up into a coherent program

Key Takeaway

Because the exam is built around instructional skills rather than driving facts, practice applying concepts to scenarios. Knowing the definition of a performance objective matters less than being able to tell which of four sample objectives is correctly written.

Eligibility and the Performance Submission

The exam is only one piece of certification. The experience requirement and the performance/background submission are equally real hurdles, and candidates who ignore them lose time. Full details are in CDT Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify; here is the summary.

Experience and course prerequisites

  • Two years of driver-training experience; no degree required.
  • Driving experience counts only when at least 50% of the role involves training others. Years behind the wheel alone do not satisfy this.
  • Completion of the required two-day, 16-hour Essential Instructional Skills for Professional Driver Trainers course.
  • Course credit stays usable for five years, so you have a window between taking the course and finishing certification.

The performance/background submission

This is typically due within 60 days and includes:

  • Three signed references: one from an employer and two from external colleagues
  • Two years of performance evidence
  • At least four examples of management or training activities
  • The general checklist also references non-NATMI development and association membership
Start the paperwork early: The three references are the most common source of delay because they depend on other people's schedules. Line up your employer reference and two external colleagues before you finish the course, and begin collecting your four activity examples while the training is still fresh in your mind.

Cost and Registration Mechanics

NATMI sells certification as a bundled program rather than a standalone exam fee. The current official catalog lists two price plans for the 2.5-day program:

PlanListed price
Default / NATMI price planUS$1,185
TCA-member planUS$1,070

Other quotes exist and vary. NATMI's public FAQ separately quotes $1,150 with regional variation, and one closed partner event in July 2026 quoted $1,045. Treat these as evidence that the final price depends on how and where you enroll, and confirm the current figure at registration.

According to the NATMI FAQ, the bundle includes training, testing/application, materials, and first-year membership. Two things are not publicly verified: a standalone exam fee, and a universal member versus non-member exam price schedule. If you were hoping to price the exam on its own, you will need to ask NATMI directly. The full breakdown is in CDT Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

What to Expect on the Exam

Format

NATMI's general guide says to expect about 100 questions in multiple-choice and true/false format. The exam is delivered through the NATMI/TCA TopClass Learning Center as online testing, normally after you complete training. Alternative virtual or in-person proctoring can be arranged.

What is not specified

  • No breakdown of scored versus unscored questions is published.
  • No separately dated question-count specification exists beyond the general guide.
  • Open-book, calculator, adaptive-testing, and accommodation rules are not verified in public sources. Ask NATMI before test day if any of these matter to you.
A note on timing: You may see an exam event advertised as running from 8 a.m. to noon. That is a scheduling block, not proof of a four-hour timed test. The actual exam timer has not been publicly verified, so do not plan around a specific number of minutes per question.

For a sense of how challenging candidates find it, see How Hard Is the CDT Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. For scheduling, see CDT Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

What Nobody Has Published

A good cheat sheet is honest about its gaps. These are the items candidates most often ask about that cannot be answered from public sources:

  • Numeric passing score: not publicly disclosed.
  • Candidate pass rate: not publicly disclosed.
  • Exam duration: not verified.
  • Weighted blueprint: no official domain weighting has been published, so no domain can be named as "highest-weighted." The certification guide is dated January 12, 2024, with no published weighted exam blueprint or version.
  • Renewal fee amount: not publicly verified.

Be skeptical of any site that gives you a precise pass percentage, a domain weighting chart, or a time limit for this exam. Those figures are not in NATMI's public materials. The ten course topics are preparation areas, not ten verified exam domains, and any practice-question allocation you see, including on this site, is an editorial study aid rather than an official breakdown.

A Topic-Driven Review Schedule

Because the exam follows the logic of instruction itself, review in the same order a trainer would work: plan, deliver, evaluate, then manage. This sequence is one possible approach, not an official one.

Week 1

Foundations

  • The Instructional Process and Principles of Learning, since every later topic builds on these
  • Practice distinguishing learning principles in short scenarios
Week 2

Design

  • Performance Objectives and Lesson Plans together, because lesson plans are built from objectives
  • Rewrite weak objectives into strong ones as practice
Week 3

Delivery

  • Instructional Techniques, Teaching Assignments & Instructor Demonstration, and Practice Teaching
  • Match techniques to objectives and audiences
Week 4

Measurement and Management

  • Evaluation of Training Effectiveness, The Role of the Trainer, and Organization of an Effective Training Program
  • Finish with a full mixed-topic pass through practice questions

For a fuller approach to pacing and resources, read the CDT Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and test yourself on the CDT practice test after each block.

Renewal Cheat Sheet

Certification is not permanent. NATMI's recertification guidelines set out the maintenance requirements:

  • Cycle: every three years.
  • Requirement: 30 recertification points. These are not automatically the same as continuing education units, so check how NATMI counts each activity.
  • Membership: the August 26, 2026 guidelines require NATMI membership in good standing.
  • Fee: the renewal-fee amount is not publicly verified.

Key Takeaway

Start logging recertification-eligible activities from the day you certify rather than scrambling in year three. Keep your membership current, since a lapse can jeopardize renewal under the current guidelines.

Quick Answers

Who issues the Certified Driver Trainer credential?

The North American Transportation Management Institute (NATMI). Testing is delivered through the NATMI/TCA TopClass Learning Center, normally after you complete training.

How many questions are on the exam?

NATMI's general guide says to expect about 100 multiple-choice and true/false questions. No scored versus unscored breakdown is published, and the exam timer has not been publicly verified.

What is the passing score?

NATMI does not publicly disclose a numeric passing score or a candidate pass rate. Any specific figure you see elsewhere should be treated with caution. See our passing score guide for what is and is not known.

Do I need a college degree?

No. You need two years of driver-training experience, with at least 50% of the role spent training others, plus the required two-day, 16-hour Essential Instructional Skills for Professional Driver Trainers course.

Is the credential worth the investment?

That depends on your career goals and employer. The credential signals formal instructional competence to carriers and training departments. For a structured look at the tradeoffs, see Is the CDT Certification Worth It?, and for career context see CDT Jobs and the CDT Salary Guide.

Ready to pass your CDT exam?

Put this into practice with free CDT questions across every exam domain.