- CDT here means Certified Driver Trainer, issued through the North American Transportation Management Institute (NATMI), not any other credential sharing the...
- Candidates need two years of driver-training experience, with at least 50% of the role spent training others.
- The required Essential Instructional Skills course runs two days (16 hours) and its credit stays usable for five years.
- Expect about 100 multiple-choice and true/false questions; the passing score, timer, and pass rate are not publicly disclosed.
What CDT Means Here: Certified Driver Trainer
The letters "CDT" are shared by several unrelated credentials across different industries. On this site, CDT stands for Certified Driver Trainer, a professional certification for people who train commercial and professional drivers. It has nothing to do with the other credentials that happen to use the same three letters, and nothing in this article should be read as describing them. If you landed here searching for a different CDT, the exam details, fees, and renewal rules below will not apply to you.
If you want the shorter definitional versions of this topic, our pages on what CDT stands for and what CDT certification is cover the basics. This article goes further: it explains what the title signals, how the credential is earned, and what a candidate actually has to know.
Who Issues the Credential
The Certified Driver Trainer credential comes from the North American Transportation Management Institute (NATMI). Testing is delivered through the NATMI/TCA TopClass Learning Center, normally as an online exam taken after the training component. Alternative virtual or in-person proctoring can be arranged. NATMI publishes its certification materials, including a January 12, 2024 certification guide, an FAQ page, and recertification guidelines, and those documents are the authoritative source for any rule on this page.
What the Credential Proves
A Certified Driver Trainer designation signals that someone does more than drive well. It shows they can teach others to drive well, safely, and to company standards. Skilled drivers are often promoted into trainer roles with no formal instructional preparation, and the CDT exists to close that gap. The certification covers how adults learn, how to build objectives and lesson plans, how to demonstrate and coach, and how to evaluate whether training worked.
Just as important, the credential requires evidence of real experience. It is not a knowledge test alone: candidates must also submit a performance and background package, covered below. That combination of coursework, exam, and documented performance is what distinguishes the CDT from a simple course-completion certificate. For a closer look at how the pieces fit, see our overview of CDT certification and our breakdown of CDT requirements.
The Ten Required-Course Topics
Preparation for the CDT follows the ten topics published for NATMI's required course, Essential Instructional Skills for Professional Driver Trainers. These are the course topics NATMI publishes. They are not an official weighted exam blueprint, and NATMI has not published a CDT exam domain count or percentage weights. Treat them as the best available map of what the training covers, and therefore what to master.
1. The Instructional Process
The overall cycle of planning, delivering, and reviewing training.
- How the stages of instruction connect to each other
- Why structure matters for consistent results across trainers
2. Principles of Learning
How adult learners absorb and retain skills.
- Why driver trainees learn differently from classroom students
- Applying learning principles to behind-the-wheel and classroom settings
3. How to Prepare Performance Objectives
Writing clear, measurable statements of what a trainee should be able to do.
- Objectives that can be observed and evaluated
- Linking each objective to a specific driving task or behavior
4. Teaching Assignments & Instructor Demonstration
Giving trainees practical work and modeling correct technique.
- Structuring assignments so practice builds toward the objective
- Demonstrating a skill clearly before asking a trainee to perform it
5. Evaluation of Training Effectiveness
Measuring whether training changed behavior.
- Distinguishing a trainee's performance from the quality of the training itself
- Using results to improve future sessions
6. Lesson Plans
Organizing content into a repeatable, deliverable session.
- Components of a usable lesson plan
- Aligning each plan to its performance objectives
7. Instructional Techniques
The methods a trainer uses to deliver content.
- Choosing a technique to fit the material and the audience
- Keeping trainees engaged through varied delivery
8. The Role of the Trainer
What the job demands beyond technical driving skill.
- Professional conduct, responsibility, and influence on trainee habits
- How a trainer's example shapes safety culture
9. Practice Teaching
Applying the methods in a supervised or simulated setting.
- Delivering a short segment and receiving feedback
- Turning feedback into concrete improvements
10. Organization of an Effective Training Program
Scaling good individual lessons into a coherent program.
- Sequencing training so skills build logically
- Keeping records and maintaining consistency across trainers
For a deeper walk through how these topics translate into exam preparation, read our complete guide to the 10 CDT content areas.
Exam Format and Delivery
NATMI's general guide says candidates should expect 100 questions in multiple-choice and true/false formats. That is the extent of what is publicly confirmed about question structure. NATMI does not publish a breakdown of scored versus unscored items, and there is no separately dated CDT question-count specification beyond that general guidance.
| Exam Detail | What Is Publicly Verified |
|---|---|
| Delivery | NATMI/TCA TopClass Learning Center, online, normally after training; virtual or in-person proctoring by arrangement |
| Question count | About 100 per the general NATMI guide |
| Question types | Multiple choice and true/false |
| Time limit | Not publicly verified |
| Passing score | Numeric score not publicly disclosed |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Open-book, calculator, adaptive, accommodations | Rules not publicly verified; confirm with NATMI |
Because so many exam specifics are undisclosed, be skeptical of any site that claims to know the exact passing score or pass rate. We cover what is and is not known in CDT passing score and CDT pass rate, and you can gauge the realistic difficulty in how hard the CDT exam is.
Eligibility and the Performance Submission
Earning the Certified Driver Trainer credential is a multi-part process, and the exam is only one piece.
Experience requirement
Candidates need two years of driver-training experience. No college degree is required. The experience must be genuine training work: driving time counts only if at least 50% of the role involves training others. Someone who drives full-time and occasionally helps a new hire will likely fall short of this threshold.
The required course
Candidates must complete the two-day, 16-hour Essential Instructional Skills for Professional Driver Trainers course. Credit from that course remains usable for five years, which gives candidates flexibility if they cannot complete the remaining steps right away.
The performance and background submission
Certification also requires an approved performance/background submission, ordinarily within 60 days. The submission includes:
- Three signed references: one from an employer and two from external colleagues
- Two years of performance evidence
- At least four examples of management or training activities
NATMI's general checklist also mentions non-NATMI professional development and association membership as part of the documentation picture. Start gathering references and examples early, since signatures from external colleagues can take time to collect. Our CDT requirements guide goes through eligibility in more detail.
Fees and What the Bundle Covers
NATMI sells the Certified Driver Trainer pathway as a bundle for the 2.5-day program. The bundle includes training, testing and application, materials, and first-year membership, according to the NATMI FAQ. Published figures vary by source and plan:
| Source or Plan | Quoted Price |
|---|---|
| Current official catalog, default/NATMI price plan | US$1,185 |
| Current official catalog, TCA-member plan | US$1,070 |
| Public FAQ (notes regional variation) | $1,150 |
| Closed July 2026 partner event | $1,045 |
Two caveats are worth stating plainly. First, the standalone exam fee is not verified, so do not assume you can buy the test alone at some fraction of the bundle price. Second, a universal member versus non-member exam fee schedule is not verified either. The partner-event figure applied to a closed event and should not be treated as an available price. Confirm the current number directly with NATMI before budgeting. For the broader financial picture, including renewal costs, see our CDT certification cost breakdown.
Who Values the Credential
The Certified Driver Trainer title is aimed at people who train professional drivers, which points to a specific set of employers and roles:
- Motor carriers and fleets that run in-house driver training and want trainers with a recognized instructional foundation
- Safety and training departments that onboard new drivers or deliver refresher and remedial training
- Driver-training schools and programs that prepare new entrants for professional driving
- Experienced drivers moving into mentoring or instructor roles who need a credential showing they can teach, not only drive
We deliberately avoid quoting salary numbers because no verified earnings data is part of NATMI's published materials. Compensation varies with employer, region, and role scope. If you want to weigh the career case qualitatively, our salary guide, worth-it analysis, and CDT jobs page explore it further.
Renewal Over Three Years
The credential is not permanent. Certified Driver Trainer status renews on a three-year cycle and requires 30 recertification points. NATMI frames these as recertification points, not automatically continuing education units (CEUs), so do not assume that any CEU you have earned elsewhere converts one-to-one. NATMI's August 26, 2026 guidelines also require NATMI membership in good standing at renewal. The renewal-fee amount is not publicly verified, so check with NATMI when you approach your renewal date.
Key Takeaway
Plan for renewal from day one. Keep a running log of training activities, professional development, and any NATMI-related participation so you are not reconstructing three years of history when it is time to recertify.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Ten Topics
Since NATMI has not published topic weights, there is no verified "highest-weighted" area to prioritize. A sensible approach is to follow the logical flow of the course itself, spending extra time wherever your own experience is thinnest. Here is one way to sequence it, using the topic names above:
Foundations
- The Instructional Process and Principles of Learning
- The Role of the Trainer: these set the vocabulary used everywhere else
Building the Plan
- How to Prepare Performance Objectives
- Lesson Plans: practice writing both, since the two are closely linked
Delivery
- Teaching Assignments & Instructor Demonstration
- Instructional Techniques and Practice Teaching
Evaluation and Program Design
- Evaluation of Training Effectiveness
- Organization of an Effective Training Program, then a full review pass
Objectives and lesson plans come early because later topics, such as evaluation and program organization, assume you can already write and use them. Then test yourself with scenario-style questions on the CDT practice test, which mirror the multiple-choice and true/false format. For a fuller plan, see our CDT study guide, and keep the CDT cheat sheet handy for last-minute review. You can also explore structured options on our CDT training page or return to the main practice site to start drilling questions.
Frequently Asked Questions
CDT stands for Certified Driver Trainer, a credential issued through the North American Transportation Management Institute (NATMI). It is unrelated to other credentials that share the same acronym.
No. NATMI requires two years of driver-training experience but no degree. Driving time counts toward that experience only if at least 50% of your role involves training others.
NATMI's general guide says to expect about 100 multiple-choice and true/false questions. The numeric passing score, exam timer, and candidate pass rate are not publicly disclosed, so be cautious of any source claiming exact figures.
According to the NATMI FAQ, the bundle covers training, testing and application, materials, and first-year membership. Current catalog prices are US$1,185 on the default plan and US$1,070 for TCA members, though other sources quote different figures, so confirm with NATMI.
Certification renews every three years and requires 30 recertification points plus NATMI membership in good standing. The renewal-fee amount is not publicly verified, so ask NATMI directly before your renewal date.