CDT logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CDT Certification?

TL;DR
  • CDT here means Certified Driver Trainer, issued through the North American Transportation Management Institute (NATMI), not any other credential sharing the...
  • You need two years of driver-training experience, and driving counts only when at least 50% of your role involves training others.
  • The required Essential Instructional Skills course runs two days (16 hours), and its credit stays usable for five years.
  • The exam is expected to be 100 questions, multiple choice and true/false; the exact timer and passing score are not publicly disclosed.

What Certified Driver Trainer Certification Actually Is

The Certified Driver Trainer credential is a professional certification for people who teach other people to drive for a living, typically within trucking and professional-driver fleets. It does not certify that you can drive well. It certifies that you can teach driving well: that you understand how adults learn, how to build and deliver lessons, how to evaluate whether training worked, and how to run a training program that an employer can defend.

That distinction is the single most important thing to understand before you start. A great driver is not automatically a great trainer, and the credential is built around the gap between the two. If you want a quick orientation on the acronym itself, our explainers on what CDT stands for and what CDT is cover the basics, and this article goes deeper on how the certification works in practice.

Identity check: Several unrelated credentials share the "CDT" acronym. This site covers only Certified Driver Trainer, administered through NATMI. If you arrived looking for a different CDT, the exam content, fees, and requirements described here will not apply to it.

Who Issues It and Why That Matters

The credential is administered by the North American Transportation Management Institute, commonly abbreviated NATMI. Testing is delivered through the NATMI/TCA TopClass Learning Center, an online platform, and is normally taken after completing training. NATMI has also indicated that alternative virtual or in-person proctoring can be arranged, so if the standard online route does not suit your situation, it is worth asking the issuer directly rather than assuming there is only one path.

The issuer matters because everything about this credential flows from NATMI's published materials: the experience requirements, the required course, the performance submission, and the renewal rules. When a question comes up about what counts or what is allowed, the NATMI certification guide and FAQ are the authoritative sources, not a forum post or a coworker's memory. NATMI's certification guidebook is dated January 12, 2024, so treat any older document you find with some suspicion and confirm current details with the issuer.

Who Qualifies: Experience, the Required Course, and the 50% Rule

Eligibility is built on three pillars, and each has fine print worth reading carefully. For the full eligibility breakdown, see our companion guide to CDT requirements; here is the overview.

Two years of driver-training experience

Candidates need two years of experience in driver training. No college degree is required, which makes the credential accessible to experienced fleet trainers who came up through the driver's seat rather than the classroom.

The 50% rule

Here is where people get tripped up. Driving experience counts toward the requirement only when at least 50% of your role involves training others. A veteran driver who occasionally rides along with new hires does not automatically meet the bar. Before you invest in the course, honestly assess how much of your actual working time is spent training, and be ready to document it.

The required two-day course

Candidates must complete the Essential Instructional Skills for Professional Driver Trainers course, a two-day, 16-hour program. The course credit remains usable for five years, which gives you a reasonable window to complete the remaining certification steps without having to retake the class.

Eligibility Snapshot

The core requirements, in the order most candidates tackle them:

  • Two years of driver-training experience (no degree required)
  • At least 50% of your role spent training others for driving time to count
  • Completion of the two-day, 16-hour Essential Instructional Skills course
  • An approved performance and background submission
  • Passing the certification exam

The Path From Course to Credential

Earning the credential is a multi-part process rather than a single exam sitting. Understanding the sequence up front keeps you from being surprised by paperwork after you thought you were finished.

  1. Confirm eligibility. Verify your experience against the two-year and 50% standards.
  2. Complete the required course. The Essential Instructional Skills program is the foundation for both the exam and your preparation.
  3. Take the exam. Testing is normally done online through TopClass after training.
  4. Submit your performance and background package. This is ordinarily due within 60 days.
  5. Receive approval and certification.

The performance and background submission

This component is more demanding than many candidates expect, and it is where a surprising number of people stall. The submission is ordinarily expected within 60 days and includes:

  • Three signed references: one from an employer and two from external colleagues
  • Two years of performance evidence
  • At least four examples of management or training activities

NATMI's general checklist also references non-NATMI professional development and association membership. Because the references involve other people's time, start lining them up early. A reference who takes three weeks to respond can quietly consume half your window.

Don't treat the exam as the finish line: Passing the test is only one part of earning the credential. Candidates who plan only for the exam can find themselves scrambling to assemble references and evidence against a 60-day clock. Gather your documentation while you study.

What the Exam Looks Like and What Isn't Public

This is the section where honesty serves you better than confident-sounding guesses. NATMI's general guide says to expect 100 questions, in multiple-choice and true/false formats. That is the extent of what is clearly documented about structure.

Several details that candidates often ask about are not publicly verified, and you should not rely on anyone who states them as fact:

DetailStatus
Number of questionsExpect 100 per NATMI's general guide
Question formatMultiple choice and true/false
Exam time limitNot publicly verified
Numeric passing scoreNot publicly disclosed
Candidate pass rateNot publicly disclosed
Scored vs. unscored question splitNot published
Open-book, calculator, adaptive, accommodationsRules not verified; ask NATMI
Official weighted exam blueprintNone published for this credential

One caution on timing: you may see an exam event listed as running from 8 a.m. to noon. That is the length of a scheduled event, not proof of a four-hour timed test, so do not plan around a specific time limit until NATMI confirms one. Our pages on the CDT passing score and the CDT pass rate explain what is and is not known, and why we decline to print figures the issuer has not released. For a broader sense of difficulty, see how hard the CDT exam is.

The Ten Topics Behind the Preparation

NATMI has not published a weighted exam blueprint for this credential, so there is no official statement of how many questions come from each area. What is published are the ten topics of the required Essential Instructional Skills course, and those make the most defensible foundation for your preparation. Treat them as ten preparation topics drawn from the issuer's own course, not as ten officially weighted exam domains. We have organized our practice material around them for that reason, and you can see the full breakdown in our guide to all ten CDT content areas.

Topic 1: The Instructional Process

The overall framework for how instruction is planned, delivered, and improved.

  • How the stages of instruction connect to one another
  • Where a trainer's decisions have the most effect on outcomes

Topic 2: Principles of Learning

How people actually absorb and retain skills, especially adult learners.

  • Why adults learn differently from younger students
  • How practice, feedback, and motivation shape retention

Topic 3: How to Prepare Performance Objectives

Writing clear, measurable statements of what a trainee should be able to do.

  • What makes an objective observable and testable
  • How objectives drive everything downstream, from lessons to evaluation

Topic 4: Teaching Assignments & Instructor Demonstration

Structuring what trainees practice and modeling the skill correctly yourself.

  • How to assign tasks that build toward the objective
  • Demonstrating a skill so trainees can see and replicate it

Topic 5: Evaluation of Training Effectiveness

Determining whether training worked, not just whether it happened.

  • Measuring trainee performance against the stated objectives
  • Using results to improve the next round of instruction

Topic 6: Lesson Plans

Turning objectives into an organized, repeatable plan for a session.

  • The components of a well-built lesson plan
  • Sequencing content so each step supports the next

Topic 7: Instructional Techniques

The methods a trainer uses to deliver content and keep trainees engaged.

  • Matching technique to the type of skill being taught
  • Questioning, discussion, and demonstration as tools

Topic 8: The Role of the Trainer

The responsibilities, conduct, and judgment expected of a professional driver trainer.

  • Balancing coaching, evaluation, and safety accountability
  • How a trainer represents the employer and the profession

Topic 9: Practice Teaching

Applying the skills in a hands-on setting and receiving feedback.

  • Delivering a lesson and refining it based on critique
  • Connecting classroom concepts to real instructional performance

Topic 10: Organization of an Effective Training Program

Looking beyond a single lesson to the structure of a whole program.

  • How individual lessons fit into a coherent program
  • The administrative and planning side of running training at scale

Notice how these topics chain together. Objectives (Topic 3) feed lesson plans (Topic 6), which are delivered with techniques (Topic 7) and demonstrations (Topic 4), then judged through evaluation (Topic 5). If you understand that chain, many scenario questions become easier because you can reason about where in the process a problem originated.

Fees and What the Bundle Covers

Cost is where published information is most layered, so it helps to separate what is documented from what is not. NATMI's current official catalog presents a bundled price for the 2.5-day program rather than a standalone exam fee. For a fuller walkthrough, see our CDT certification cost breakdown.

SourceQuoted Price
Official catalog, default/NATMI price planUS$1,185
Official catalog, TCA-member price planUS$1,070
Public FAQ (varies by region)$1,150
Closed July 2026 partner event$1,045

According to the NATMI FAQ, the bundle includes training, testing and application, materials, and first-year membership. What is not verified is a standalone exam fee, or a universal member versus non-member exam schedule, so if you already hold the course credit and only need to test, ask NATMI what you would pay rather than assuming. The renewal-fee amount is likewise not publicly verified.

Key Takeaway

Compare the plan prices before you register. The gap between the default plan and the TCA-member plan is meaningful, and regional or partner-event pricing can differ again. Confirm what is included in your specific offering before paying.

Where the Credential Gets Used

The natural home for this credential is the world of professional driver training: motor carriers, fleet operators, and training organizations that onboard and develop drivers. Anyone whose job involves bringing new drivers up to standard, coaching experienced ones, or running a company's training program is the target audience. Safety and training managers also fit, since the ten course topics extend well beyond the cab into program design and evaluation.

We have deliberately not attached salary figures or hiring statistics to this section, because credible numbers specific to this credential are not something we can verify. If earnings and market demand are your main questions, our pages on CDT salary, CDT jobs, and whether the certification is worth it discuss the considerations honestly, including what we cannot quantify. A practical test of value: ask your own employer whether the credential changes your role, your standing on audits, or your eligibility for a training lead position.

Keeping the Credential Active

Certification is not permanent. Renewal runs on a three-year cycle and requires 30 recertification points. Note that these are recertification points, not automatically continuing education units, so do not assume that any CEU you have earned elsewhere converts one-for-one. NATMI's recertification guidelines, with an August 26, 2026 revision, also require your NATMI membership to be in good standing at renewal.

The practical implication is that renewal is a three-year project, not a last-minute task. Keep a running log of qualifying activities as you complete them, along with membership payment records, so that when the renewal window opens you are compiling, not reconstructing.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Ten Topics

Because there is no official weighting, resist the urge to over-invest in whichever topic feels most comfortable. A sensible sequence follows the dependency chain described earlier, and it pairs naturally with the two-day course you are already required to take.

Week 1

Foundations

  • Review The Instructional Process and Principles of Learning, since every later topic builds on them
  • Re-read your course materials while the two-day class is still fresh
Week 2

The Planning Chain

  • Work through Performance Objectives, then Lesson Plans, as a single connected unit
  • Practice writing one objective and building a lesson plan around it
Week 3

Delivery and Judgment

  • Cover Teaching Assignments & Instructor Demonstration, Instructional Techniques, and Practice Teaching
  • Study The Role of the Trainer with attention to scenario-style reasoning
Week 4

Evaluation, Programs, and Review

  • Finish Evaluation of Training Effectiveness and Organization of an Effective Training Program
  • Take timed practice sets mixing multiple-choice and true/false items, then revisit weak topics
  • Begin or finish assembling your references and evidence for the 60-day submission

Because the exam is multiple choice and true/false, practice reading carefully for absolutes and qualifiers, which often decide true/false items. For a structured plan and more detail, see our CDT study guide, and keep our one-page CDT cheat sheet handy for last-day review. When you are ready to test yourself on the ten topics, our CDT practice tests let you drill each area and find the gaps before exam day.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CDT certification stand for in this context?

It stands for Certified Driver Trainer, a credential administered through the North American Transportation Management Institute (NATMI). It is unrelated to other credentials that share the same three letters. For more on the terminology, see our page on what CDT certification is.

Do I need a college degree to become a Certified Driver Trainer?

No. A degree is not required. You need two years of driver-training experience, where driving counts only if at least 50% of your role involves training others, plus completion of the required two-day, 16-hour Essential Instructional Skills course.

How many questions are on the exam, and how long do I have?

NATMI's general guide says to expect 100 questions in multiple-choice and true/false format. The exact time limit is not publicly verified, and a scheduled morning testing event should not be read as a confirmed four-hour limit. Confirm timing with NATMI before test day.

What is the passing score?

NATMI does not publicly disclose a numeric passing score or a candidate pass rate. Be wary of any source that quotes a specific percentage as fact. Focus on thorough preparation across all ten course topics instead of targeting a number.

How long does the certification last, and what does renewal involve?

Certification is renewed every three years and requires 30 recertification points along with NATMI membership in good standing. The renewal-fee amount is not publicly verified, so check with NATMI when your cycle approaches.

Ready to pass your CDT exam?

Put this into practice with free CDT questions across every exam domain.